Tuesday, August 23, 2011

104:70 Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton

The 20th book in the Anita Blake series.  This series is a trainwreck that I just can't help but reading.  I've finally put my foot down to myself and refused to buy this one but got it from the library instead.  Why? Simply because the last 10 books or so have just gone downhill from having meaningful plots, murders to solve, and strong characters to a whiny main character always moaning about her fate with a string of porn scenes that were basically all the same except with lots of different men (to provide more whining about) with a thin attempt at a plot to try and tie the sex scenes together.  So why read this one?  As I said, it's a trainwreck.  The first several books were so good for the genre and every once in a while, you get a glimpse at what used to be and it gives you hope that she's turning it around...until she yanks the rug out from under you and the next one is nothing but sex.

This is one of the better ones.  First, there was only one sex scene in the whole book, it was short and sweet and didn't show up until halfway through.  Second, there was an actual to goodness plot!  Edward is back, as are Olaf and Bernardo.  There is a serial murderer out there and Anita knows who it is.  The Harlequin are back under the direction of Mommy Darkness and they want Anita.  Lots of detective work piecing things together, lots of action scenes.  The ending was a bit too pat but at least it made sense and drew on powers that Anita had acquired in other books rather than an orgy to give her more powers than g-d again.

I do think that the way this one ended while leaving a few loose ends was a great place to end the series.  Unfortunately, I doubt that Ms. Hamilton will.  I will say tho, that if you enjoyed the earlier books, you will enjoy this one.

Page Count: 320p/21,174p ytd

No comments:

Post a Comment